How Does She Do It?… with Marie Zydek

how does she do it

Twice a month we interview Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

We are thrilled to introduce you to Marie Zydek! She is a wife, mother of one, personal stylist, and barre instructor in Edmonton, AB. Be sure to follow her on Facebook and Instagram.

how does she do it

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I’m a suburban mama and live on the south west side of Edmonton.

Tell us about your children?


I have an almost 5 year old boy named Miles.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

We wake up, get ready for our day and then I drop Miles off at school. Then I either have a client appointment or work from home. After I pick up Miles from school we come back to our house and I work a bit more while Miles watches a show or plays video games. We’ll then sit on the couch and read books or play games until Daddy is done work. We eat dinner, have a bath, watch some Netflix and then it’s time for bed!

Do you have help?

Yes, my good friend watches Miles and my sister-in-law as well, when she has a day off. Also, my parents help when there are no Covid restrictions.

Who cooks dinner?

I do, mostly, but my husband is a way better cook than me!

how does she do it

How often do you buy something just for you?


Hmmmm….the last time I splurged was just before Christmas, I bought myself a mini-trampoline so I could workout on it!

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?


Yes, I do barre classes and bounce classes (hence the mini-trampoline I bought!) with Studio B here in Edmonton. I am a barre instructor there and also create content for their social media channels. I find time to exercise when I can, I’m lucky with my business I can make my own hours – and sometimes Miles will workout with me. Sometimes it’s only 20 minutes but it’s better than nothing!

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?


Honestly, Miles grows so fast that I prefer buying clothing from consignment and second-hand clothing stores like Once Upon A Child. But if I can’t find particular items there, I like GAP and Zara, sometimes Old Navy…

Three things in my purse right now are…


Besides my phone and wallet? My day planner, chapstick and Advil.

My favourite drugstore buy is?


L’Oreal Telescopic mascara. THE best.

My guilty pleasure is?

Popcorn layered with lots of butter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like