How Does She Do It?…with Jourdane Lal

Twice a month we interview Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.


We are very excited to introduce you to Jourdane Lal from Maple Ridge, British Columbia. She is a self-employed mortgage broker at the Vine Group.

Jourdane sitting with her children in a park

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

Kinda urban, kinda suburban. Lol. Maple Ridge.

Tell us about your children?

I have 3 children. 10 almost 11 year-old son, Caine. He is sweet, sensitive, laid back, and very mature. He is the voice of reason and an anchor during chaos. My almost 8 year old daughter, Talia, is strong willed, painfully shy and ruled by her emotions. She is creative, caring and a natural at any and every activity. My 6 year old Daughter, Aria, is full of life, super spirited, and always has a story to tell. She is tiny, sweet and extremely loving.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

Typical weekday : Alarm goes off, wake kiddos, supervise to make sure they get dressed, brush teeth, apply deodorant etc. Breakfast, organize lunches, fill water bottles and COFFEE. Drive and drop kiddos at school. Work mode. Call clients, reply to emails, build credit, discuss applications, organize appointments for week. Check in on social media and post something relative to building rapport and business. Pick up kiddos from school. Activities. Depending on what day of the week. Usually I take my computer and work from whatever activity we are at. Get back home and prep dinner. Clean up dinner mess, baths or showers, bedtime stories. Make lunches. Finish up any work I can. Sleep .

Do you have help?

No. I am pretty convinced my hubby is equal to another child.

Who cooks dinner?

Me. Although my kids have always enjoyed helping and are becoming more involved.

How often do you buy something just for you?

Ummm, sorry I don’t understand the question. Haha. Not often enough.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

It’s something I always tell myself I am going to do, but somehow always falls to the end of the list. I do practice yoga at home but not as frequently as I would like.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I’m a big supporter of shopping local but find it increasingly more difficult as they grow. I do a ton of shopping at places like Winners, H&M, and Costco!

Headshot of Jourdane

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Chap stick
  2. Fruit snacks
  3. About 100 crumpled up receipts

My favourite drugstore buy is…

$20 perfume or cologne shelf at Shoppers Drug Mart. Brand name lines at a serious discount are great for gifts!

My guilty pleasure is…

Candy. Wine. Chocolate. And not in any particular order of preference.


Thank you to Jourdane Lal for taking the time out of her day to let us know “How Does She Do It.”


  1. 1

Comments are closed.

You May Also Like