How Does She Do It?…. With Bindu Suri

bindu suri

Modern Mama interviews Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If you are interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Our latest How Does She Do It?… mama is Bindu Suri. She is a news anchor from Global Calgary, a wife, and a mother of two. After graduating from the University of Alberta and Sait, Bindu jumped into Broadcast News. She has worked in Broadcast News for about 17 years at TV stations in Brandon Manitoba, Medicine Hat, Red Deer, and Calgary. She and her family settled in Calgary and made it home with most of her family now living in the city.

When not working, you can find her spending time with her family which includes swimming, camping, hiking, biking, and mountain getaways. She has always been passionate about community events, especially those that promote diversity and inclusion. She has also had the honor of hosting and representing Global Calgary at community events such as Global Fest, the Seva Gala for the Alberta Children’s Hospital, the 24th Annual Immigrants of Distinction Awards among others.

Be sure to give her a follow on her Twitter and Instagram!

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am a Suburban Mama! We live in Calgary, in the Northwest part of the city. It’s the first house
my husband and I moved into almost 12 years ago. It has everything we need and just haven’t
wanted to settle anywhere else.

Tell us about your children?

I have two children. My daughter is a talkative 7 year-old and my son is an active 3 year-old. My
little girl is a performer at heart. She enjoys gymnastics and dance classes. She loves to read and
sing and has been a social butterfly since the day she was born. My son is a toddler who is full
of energy. He loves playing with toys that make a lot of noise — from tools to vacuums. There
isn’t a lot of quiet time in our house.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

My shift is Monday to Friday and starts at 5am. Everyone in my house is still sleeping. I sneak
out in the morning and my husband wakes up with the kids and gets them ready before driving
them to school and daycare. When I’m finished my shift at 1pm, I generally run errands or take
a nap. I sometimes even get to meet up with friends for coffee! Around 4pm I pick up my
daughter from the school bus stop and my little boy from daycare. We play in the park or
backyard if the weather is nice. Otherwise, I bring them home and get dinner ready right away
and by then my husband is home. After some more play time with the kids, and sometimes
homework for my 7 year-old, we all prepare for the kid’s bedtime routine.


Do you have help?

One thing I know for sure, if you’re working parents, help is a necessity. My son attends daycare
and if he stays home, we sometimes have a casual Nanny come to the house and help during
the mornings. I feel fortunate to finish my shift by 1:00pm, which allows me to be at home and
take care of the kids for most of the day, if they need to be at home. My daughter also attends
before and after school care, which is incredibly helpful. I also have a big family; we are spread
out across Calgary but they are always available in a pinch.

Who cooks dinner?

I usually cook dinner because my husband’s shift ends later than mine. I’m home in the
afternoon, so it’s just easier for me to cook during the weekdays. My husband is usually cooking
up a storm on Sundays, which is very helpful.

How often do you buy something just for you?

I have no problem shopping for myself every month! I work hard and deserve to treat myself as
any mom should! I feel fortunate to be able to spoil myself every once in a while.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I don’t exercise regularly, but during the summer we take walks and bike rides as a family. We
fit in outdoor adventures on the weekends. We love driving to different parks in the city that
we haven’t visited before. It’s a great way to explore the city and stay active by keeping up with
the kids.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

My kids are still small, so I generally find everything I need at the mall. I shop at Carters, GAP
Kids and Children’s Place. I still love going to stores, so I don’t do a lot of online shopping for the
kids. Also, my kids have a lot of hand-me-down clothing from their cousins. They have a lot of

Three things in my purse right now are…

My earpiece for work, my gloves, and a lot of lipstick and lip-gloss.

My favourite drugstore buy is?


My guilty pleasure is?

Binge-watching a good series on TV.


You May Also Like