How Does She Do It?… With Jack Sweeney

how does she do it

Modern Mama interviews Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If you are interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.


This week How Does She Do It?… mama is Jacqueline (Jack) Sweeney co-hosts CISN In The Morning with Chris Scheetz & Matt DeBeurs on CISN Country 103.9 in Edmonton, Alberta. Fueled by coffee and chaos; this busy mom of 2 starts her days at 3:30am.  Jack is a YWCA Women of Distinction Nominee, a Sizzling 20 Under 30 Alum and has been named one of the top 50 Women to Know. She loves a good deal & a great song and often shares her family’s adventures through her Instagram page. Jack is married to a wild guy named Bob and they have a 2 sweet girls Kennedy and Lilly.

Be sure to give her a follow on her Twitter and Instagram!

how does she do it


Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am most definitely a Suburban Mama in Edmonton. I feel like I have the best of both worlds though. We still live within city limits, but we lucked out in that we had a giant lot (big enough for the ice rink my husband builds every year). But truthfully, I do envy the urban moms. They seem like they have it all together, ha ha! Everything is just a little more chic in the city. I am not that put together; I need space.


Tell us about your children?

I have two daughters; Kennedy and Lilly.

Kennedy is 5 and is like a sponge. She loves to learn and is always asking questions. I literally can see her wheels turning every day. She absolutely loves all animals. She’s happy, caring and just the sweetest.

Lilly is 2 and is without a doubt my wild child. From day one she has had this tenacity about her. She loves life and truly marches to the beat of her own drum. She’s charmingly weird and always knows exactly what she wants.


Tell us about your typical weekday?

It starts early and doesn’t stop. I’m up at 3:30 am working on newscasts and the morning show. I get the girls up around 4:30 am and drop them off at the day home (the real MVP in this situation). Then I’m at the radio station until 11 am or so. Pick up the girls, do school drop off, try to sneak in a nap or a workout (or both!), school pick up, dinner, baths and bed. Whew! Truly a whirlwind.

Do you have help?

YES! My husband works out of town 3/4 weeks a month. I do not know what I would do without our day home. The lady who runs it is a true angel. The girls have been going to her home since they were 5 months old and we love her like family.

how does she do it


Who cooks dinner?

 9/10 it is me who is cooking dinner. It’s never fancy.


How often do you buy something just for you?

I don’t actually buy a lot for myself however I do believe in self-care (so I suppose that counts as buying something for yourself?). Regular facials and acupuncture keep me feeling my best.


Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

Ha! PAW Patrol to the rescue in so many ways. I can fit a really good, hard HIIT workout or elliptical sesh in the 24 mins of an episode. I try to fit these in 4 times a week. In the summer — LOTS of walks with the girls and our rescue dog Cactus.


how does she do it


What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

There is a secondhand store here in Edmonton that I love — Once Upon a Child. Really great quality clothes. For matching outfits (my guilty pleasure) I am all about Old Navy and Joe Fresh. I can’t bring myself to spend a lot of money on clothes because kids ruin everything.

Three things in my purse right now are…

Altoids, 500 lip glosses and a Paw Patrol toy ( likely Skye)


My favourite drugstore buy is?

Dry Shampoo. I live for it. My fav is Dove.

My guilty pleasure is?

The latest and greatest streaming series. I binge them to the point where it’s bad for my health (I skip sleep to watch one more episode). Squid Game, Queens Gambit, Yellowjackets, Euphoria. If its “hot right now” I’m obsessed.


You May Also Like