How Does She Do It: Melissa Carr

It’s time for another How Does She Do It! We are thrilled to introduce you to Melissa Carr Vancouver, British Columbia.

Every few months we’ll interview and feature a ‘Celebrity Mom’! In between we’ll feature ALL moms (You! Please apply here!)


Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I’m an urban mama…who, due to Vancouver’s absurd property prices, often fantasizes about becoming a suburban mama!  However, we live just off Main Street in Vancouver and love our little neighbourhood – so thoughts of leaving are usually fleeting!

Tell us about your children (how many, how old?)

We have two children.  A 7 year old daughter and a son who is 5.  Both are an absolute joy…with careers, hobbies and activities, life is totally crazy – but these two make it worth it!

Tell us about your typical weekday.

A typical day for me begins with a workout.  I either head to my local studio, or go for a 5 km run.  If I don’t do it in the morning…it won’t get done.  By the time I’m back the kids are up and getting dressed.  We have breakfast and get ready to go to school or daycamp or somewhere together if I have the day off.

Do you have help?

My parents live really close by and I don’t know how I would manage everything without them.  We also have a cleaner that comes every two weeks.  I tried and tried to do it all myself, but I just couldn’t.  I’ve found that outsourcing is a VERY viable solution to many of life’s problems!

Who cooks dinner?

I’m the dinner cook…my husband, is a master of breakfast.

How often do you buy something for just you?

I’m not a big ʺstuffʺ person.  I tend to treat myself to experiences like pedicures, massages or weekends away with the girls.  These are indulgences that make me happy and allow me to spend time away from my family, which I think is important.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

Yes…I fit it in by waking up VERY early, which is often a struggle as I’m a total night owl.  I’ve been athletic all my life, so when I go through periods of being un-active, I feel like something is missing.


What clothing lines/stores do you like to buy for your child(ren)?

Again…not a ʺstuffʺ person.  I’m not big into labels or brands.  I like cool, surfy/skateboarder style stuff for my kids…they play hard, so it needs to be durable and easy to wash.  Both of them have their own sense of style, and so although I try to save time by laying clothes out for them, what they end up coming to the breakfast table in is often their own version.

Complete the following:

I’m totally obsessed with…The Walking Dead, I cannot wait for the next season to start!!

Three things in my purse right now … my iPhone, sunscreen and Gillian Flynn’s ʺGone Girlʺ just can’t put it down

My favorite drugstore buy….nailpolish – I have a massive bag at home – it’s a problem!

My guilty pleasure is….wine, wine, wine – I only feel guilty sometimes.

Read more about Melissa and visit her blog at

PSST! Apply here to be featured in our How Does She Do It!

You May Also Like