How Does He Do It?…with Trent Wilkie

Man taking selfie

Twice a month we interview Dads in our “How Does He Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Trent Wilkie

We are excited to introduce you to Trent Wilkie. He is a Canadian dad raising two children with his wife, Elizabeth. He is a is a writer, journalist, performer. He has an award-winning blog, The UnDad. He is a member of Mostly Water Theatre, a sketch comedy troupe that has formed in 2004. As well, he is an experienced canoe guide who has paddled all over Canada.

Are you an urban or suburban dad, where do you live?

I’m an urban dad and live in Edmonton, Alberta Canada. I was born rural though, in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (also Canada).

Tell us about your children?

I have two monsters. A 3-year-old and a 5-year-old. They aren’t real monsters though. They just pretend to be. The youngest, my daughter, wants to be a puppy when she grows up. The other, my son, wants to be a food scientist. Or an artist. That is only if the whole science thing doesn’t pay off.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

We get up around 7:30am and see Elizabeth (mommy/wife/therapist) off to work. Then breakfast. Then arguments about cleaning up. Then a game. Then probably some educational TV. Then lunch/snack. Then my son is off to school in the afternoon and my daughter starts her nap. I do chores or write for the 2 hours. Then my daughter gets up, my son gets home from school and I start dinner. Then my wife gets home, we eat, and I spend the rest of the night apologizing to my wife about the night terrors I have. Or we watch a film. Or play a game. Or go out. Or go to bed early.

Do you have help?

Just my wife/partner/therapist Elizabeth.

Who cooks dinner?

I do or Elizabeth does. Sometimes I start and she finishes. Sometimes she cooks because I’m working on something. 

How often do you have date nights?

3 times a year. Yes, we are working on that.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to purchase for your children?

We mostly just get used clothing from friends and family. Or our relatives buy them stuff. We aren’t really into the whole kids fashion thing. We do spurge on winter wear though. It can get pretty cold here and we don’t want our kids to die when they play outside.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit in it?

Recently, I revisited my boxing training and usually do it while my daughter sleeps. Or I go for a walk at night and listen to podcasts. My wife and I are getting a membership at the YMCA that is close to our home so we can work out together.

What is your favourite Christmas/Hanukkah gift that you have received as an adult?

I usually get functional gift for Christmas so nothing really stands out. I do really like opening my stocking though. My wife and inlaws go all out on the stocking. Lots of fun little things that make me feel like a king. 

What are you currently watching?

Currently I’m watching The Watchmen, Rick and Morty, Barry, and I frequently go back to The Wire and Deadwood.

Can you tell the future? If so, what would you tell it?

Great question. I would tell the future to be kinder to me than my childhood.

 

Thank you to Trent for taking the time out of his day to let us know “how does he do it.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like