How Does She Do It?… with Ashley Cau


Twice a month we interview Moms in our “How Does She Do It?’ feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Ashley taking a selfie with her daughter

I decided to end this year by featuring myself. I am Ashley Cau and I live in Mission, British Columbia. I have been the Modern Mama city blogger for just over a year.

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am a suburban mama. I live in a suburb in Mission although I miss being an urban mama and living in Vancouver. 

Tell us about your children?

I am a mom to an 11 year-old daughter. She is smart, funny and beautiful. She also could win an Oscar or be a Professional Poker with her ability to tell elaborate stories. She has been in dance for the last 8 years and makes it look effortless. She is very excited to be taller than myself and her grandmother. 

Tell us about your typical weekday?

Our alarms go off roughly at the same time but we love to hit snooze in our house. My daughter will get dressed and then come snuggle in my room until our second alarm gets us up. She will make her breakfast and we will make our lunches together. I drive her to school then either go to work, come home to do housework or write. I am currently PAC president at her school so prior to the school being let out for the day I will often pop into the office to see if there is anything I need to help with. After school is a variety of homework, chores, ballet or work activities. We cook dinner together and later in the evening is usually Netflix or reading before bedtime. 

Do you have help?

As a single mama I am very lucky to have lots of help. My grandmother has lived with us for the last 7 years so I am extremely lucky that childcare has never been much of an issue for me. I also have a tribe of kick-ass families that are able to help and support us whenever its needed. I am extremely fortunate for our friends that have become family.

Ashley hugging her grandmother and daughter

Taneane Twele Photography

Who cooks dinner?

I am the primary cook in our house but we often make meals together as a family. 

How often do you buy something just for you?

I frequently buy myself small things. My favourite stores are Sephora and H&M. I have tried to drink coffee at home more but I still find myself at Starbucks frequently. 

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I do not exercise as frequently as I feel like I should. I do donate to a gym monthly haha. When I go I do hot yoga and a kickboxing circuit.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

My daughter’s favourite clothing stores are H&M and Urban Planet. 

I’m totally obsessed with…

Travelling, Silk Almond Coffee Creamer, Fresh Lotus Face Cream and Baths. 

Ashley and her daughter at a Christmas tree store.

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Chapstick
  2. Old Ticket Stubs
  3. Pens

My favourite drugstore buy is…

Chapstick, magazines, cough drops and Starbucks Frappuccino.

My guilty pleasure is…

Gossip websites and reality TV. 


If interested in being featured in the “How Does She Do It” featured please email

You May Also Like