How Does She Do It?… with Chelsea Kleckner

Twice a month we interview Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Chelsea and her family at a baseball game

We are very excited to introduce you to Chelsea Kleckner from Mission, British Columbia. She is married with two sons.

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

Suburban all the way! We live on a cul-de-sac with some amazing neighbours. They are our support system and our social life.

Tell us about your children?

I have two boys. They are loud, messy and love bathroom jokes. My 9-year-old is sweet, but hot tempered. He demands perfection. My 6-year-old is silly, social and likes to make people laugh. They are both very smart and love to be challenged.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

I hit the snooze button too many times and we rush through our morning routine. After the boys are dropped off at their classrooms, I hit up the drive-through Starbucks on my way to work. Thank goodness for Starbucks. I work a full-time admin job in Mission and often drive by the school on my lunch break to take a peak at the boys on the playground. My parents pick up my boys after school and I pick them up from their house after work. I unpack their backpacks while my husband makes dinner. I clean up afterwards and let the boys run out their energy. We read before bed and  once the boys are settled, I make lunches for the next day. My husband and I end the evening with Netflix. Depending on the night of the week, the boys often have sports or homework thrown into the mix. Ugh homework…

Do you have help?

I am very lucky to have help. My husband is amazing! My parents and mother-in-law help us look after the kids and my office is very understanding. My friends and family are great moral support.

Who cooks dinner?

My husband usually cooks dinner unless we have sports.

How often do you buy something just for you?

I buy some small things here and there, but usually save up to go clothing shopping spree every 6-8 months or so. My friend and I get pedicures together on our birthdays.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

Not regularly but working on it. I started with a personal trainer several months ago and am now trying to go twice a week with some routines at home. She has adjusted her schedule to make it easier to go when my husband is home and able to be home with the kids or take them to activities but still allows me to be home for the bedtime routine.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I buy socks from Bombas, as my kids are particular about how they fit on their feet. No seams! We buy shirts anywhere, but shorts and pants are usually sports brands because they last longer (Nike, Puma, Under Armour)

Chelsea and her family posing in a sleigh at Christmas

I’m totally obsessed with…

Lists! Planning, organizing and adjusting!

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Wallet
  2. Keys
  3. Star Wars Band-aids

My favourite drugstore buy is…

Greeting cards. I love reading and giving greeting cards.

My guilty pleasure is…

Staying up until 2am watching movies for the 100th time when everyone else is sleeping.


Thank you to Chelsea Kleckner for taking the time out of her day to ley us know “How Does She Do It.”

You May Also Like