How Does She Do It?…. With Lesley Prosko

How does she do it

Twice a month we interview Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

This week’s How Does She Do It? mama is…Me! I am a wife, a mother of a 4 year old boy and a 2 year old girl, a Cardiology Technologist at the Misericordia Hospital, and our newest blogger for Modern Mama Edmonton.

Be sure to follow her on Facebook and Instagram

How does she do it

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I have lived in Edmonton, then Stony Plain and now live on an acreage in Lac Ste. Anne County just outside of Onoway.  I still work in Edmonton (AKA “The city” lol) so I would consider myself a suburban/urban mama.

Tell us about your children?

My son is all boy. He loves dinosaurs, cars, ninja moves, Pokémon, and “playing with friends.” He also loves his sister and always makes sure she is included, though doesn’t always like sharing his toys lol. He is currently in his second year preschool, this time 2 days a week, which he loves, and it is amazing how much it has made him grow as a little person.

My daughter keeps me on my toes. She is fiercely independent already and has no fear, which gives mama a lot of fear lol. She loves unicorns (“horseys”), Elsa, and dinosaurs and monster trucks just like her big bro. She loves her brother and follows him everywhere. She’s growing up way too quick for this mama, but luckily still needs her “mommy ‘nuggles.”

They love doing things and are always game for an adventure! I am truly a lucky mama!

How does she do itHow does she do it

Tell us about your typical weekday?

I work part time at the Misericordia Hospital, so work days are usually, get up, shower, get ready for work, head to work for an 8 hour shift (which in healthcare is different every single day), pick the kids up from the day home (hubby drops them off in the morning), come home, make dinner, play with the kids for a bit before bath time, kids bedtimes, then its finally me time, which usually entails a little TV or reading and then an early bedtime cuz kids and work can be tiring lol.

Weekdays when I am off are a little different. I get to wake up when the kids wake up, which lucky for me, is usually 8am or later. Mornings are pretty chill, playing with the kids, playing outside when the weather is nice, crafts, getting a run in outside with the stroller (which never gets easier cuz they keep getting bigger), or on the treadmill while they play in their playroom downstairs with me, and snacks every 15 min it feels like, because, well, they are toddlers. Lunchtime is followed by a nap for my youngest, and “quiet time” for my son. This is usually when he just chills in his room and watches his ipad or plays by himself in his room. Afternoons are when we like to adventure or get our errands done. Even if it’s a boring errands day, I am always on a lookout for a new playground to get some fun time in for the kiddos. Evening routine is similar to work days, except dinner is usually a little better as I am usually making the quickest dinner I can think of after a day of work lol.

Do you have help?

My parents live in Newfoundland, but have a condo in Stony Plain and spend a few months here, a couple times a year. They bought the place to be closer to their grandkids (and I guess my brother and I lol) so they are an amazing help.

My in-laws also live near by and my husband is very busy in the summer months, but is able to take time off to help out lots in the “cold” months. We also have an amazing day home lady nearby that loves my kids like they are her own and is super accommodating to my crazy schedule

How does she do it

Who cooks dinner?

Usually me (because I’m the better cook really lol) unless I am working a later shift, and then it’s hubby’s turn. The kids love helping me, especially with baking, so I can’t wait till it’s their turn to help out lol.

How often do you buy something just for you?

To be honest, hardly ever. I LOVE buying things for other people, but have a weird thing about spending money on myself unless I NEED it. That being said, I had a bit of a shopping binge on myself recently, which happens maybe once a year lol.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I am a runner. Before I had kids, I was running ultra marathons. I haven’t gotten back to those distances yet, but I did run my first marathon since I had both kids, this past summer. I am not much of a road runner, I get way too bored, but I LOVE trail running. My marathon was in Grand Cache, and included 2 mountain summits. (The things a mama will do to get an afternoon to herself lol) Mountains are my happy place. I am also a fair weather runner. Props to people that can motivate themselves to run outside in -20 degrees, but that is why I have a treadmill…with Netflix lol. The playroom is downstairs next to our home gym, and I have a gate surrounding the treadmill so no little fingers get  close while I’m running. And in the summer, the kids like to join me on my runs in their Chariot stroller. They are the best cheerleaders, and also make me run faster when the meltdowns start and I just want to get home faster lol. They just keep getting bigger so it never gets easier, but I do get fitter.

How does she do itHow does she do it

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I am a big fan of clearance racks. Carters and Children’s Place have great deals if you watch for them. The $4 racks at Wal-Mart are also a go to. I love searching buy and sells for things like outdoor clothing and shoes at this point as well cuz they grow so fast at this point and used clothes probably only made it through one season on another kid.

Three things in my purse right now are…

Lip balm, snacks for my kids/me, receipts that keep building up that I keep saying I will clean out when I get home, but rarely remember till next time

My favourite drugstore buy is?

Lip balm. I have them everywhere, purse, car, beside table, work bag. There is nothing worse than having dry lips and not having a lip balm lol

My guilty pleasure is?

Reality television. I don’t know why, but I can’t get enough. I’m addicted to the drama lol. You also don’t have to really pay too much attention and can still follow it, which is important with little ones always wanting your attention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like