How Does She Do It?… with Tori Farquharson

Tori Farquharson

Twice a month we interview Moms in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Tori Farquharson

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am a suburban mama, actually probably better described as a rural mama. We live in a small town called Magnetawan which is about 3.5 hours north of Toronto. Our township has a population of about 1,300 people, a hardware store, a small restaurant and grocery store and a bait & tackle shop. Our house sits on an acre and a half of property right on the Magnetawan River, where we can put our canoe in and paddle right to Georgian Bay in about 5 days.

Tell us about your children?

I have a son named Wesley who will be (turned?) 2 in July. Wesley has a genetic syndrome called FOXG1 which is characterized by impaired development and structural brain abnormalities. FOXG1 syndrome affects most aspects of development, and children with the condition typically have severe intellectual disability. So at the age of 2, Wesley still can not sit, walk or stand without assistance and has not learned to talk. That being said, he is the sweetest and happiest little boy I’ve ever met. He loves playing with his toys, and when he’s on tummy time he loves to squirm around and work on his upper body strength.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

A typical weekday starts with waking up with Wesley and feeding him breakfast. I try to make meals that are high in fat and protein, so a breakfast he eats fairly often includes eggs and avocado. He will then spend some time in his gait trainer or standing frame which are designed to help build muscle in his legs and teach him to stand and walk. Our days involve lots of Physio, whether that be practicing sitting or reaching for and holding onto toys.  We do a lot of work outside around our house so we will often bring him out with us in his standing frame or gait trainer.  We don’t have a wheel chair for him yet so we often have to use his different assistive devices.  Wesley usually naps for a few hours in the day which gives me the opportunity to get stuff done around the house or run errands. In the evenings we have dinner around 7 and start the bedtime routine afterwards which involves teeth brushing and story time. We don’t do a bath every day because he doesn’t get very dirty.

Do you have help?

My husband works from home, so he is available if I need to run out during the day, but otherwise we do not have any other help.  He is not in daycare yet because he will require a one-to-one care worker with him in a daycare facility and we are waiting until we can get the funding for that.  Also, due to his compromised immune system, we would prefer to wait until this COVID pandemic is less of a concern.

Who cooks dinner?

I cook dinner most of the time. If Jim gets out fishing and catches something he will bring it home and cook dinner but I’m usually in charge of dinner, which I don’t mind because I genuinely enjoy cooking.

How often do you buy something just for you?

Just for me? Not very often. It was my birthday recently so I bought myself a t-shirt online and bought myself materials to build a free standing pull up bar. Otherwise I’m spending my money on groceries for the family or clothes, toys and supplies for Wesley.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I exercise daily, I usually squeeze it in during Wesley’s nap. Otherwise, Jim watches Wesley while I do a workout, or I’ll take him for a run with me. I have a small gym in the basement with a Barbell and bumper plates, the pull up bar I made and a plyometric box I made. I also have a recumbent bike but in the summer I prefer going out for a run.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I usually buy Wesley’s clothes at Wal-Mart as that’s the closest clothing store to us. Otherwise I will shop at Carters or on Amazon.

I’m totally obsessed with…

My garden. We made a tiered garden on our hill in or yard this year and I can’t stop staring at it. I’ll either stare out the window at it or walk outside and just stand in front of it to stare at it. This is my first year really attempting a garden and I love watching the plants grow and I can’t wait to see how many vegetables it produces.

Three things in my purse right now are…

I actually don’t use a purse, I just bring my wallet with me everywhere. My purse would just end up full of junk and then I wouldn’t be able to find anything in it, so I stopped bringing it with me.

My favourite drugstore buy is…

We don’t have any drugstores nearby, I’d have to drive about 45 minutes to get to one, so my favourite buy would be prescription’s haha. Wesley requires anti-convulsants so I drive into town for that once every month or so.

My guilty pleasure is…

Watching Jersey Shore.
Thank you to Tori Farquharson for taking the time out of her day to let us know “How Does She Do It.”

You May Also Like