How Does She Do It? …with Amanda Meszarics

Once a month we interview moms in our “How Does She Do it?” feature. If your interested in participating please reach out

on Facebook or Instagram.

We are very excited to introduce you to Amanda Meszarics from Surrey, British Columbia. Amanda is a working mom of two children.

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am a suburban mama. I live in Surrey (West Newton).

Tell us about your children?

I have 2 children. I have a daughter(Ana-Maria) she is 6-years-old turning 7 at the end of May. She is in Grade 1 and doing very well. I have a son (Antonio) who turned 5 in January. He is currently in pre-school participating in 2 social rec programs and also a pre-k program. My son has a bit of a speech problem, which is taking a long time to get any help for him.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

My typical weekday is busy. I work a rotating schedule of days and afternoon shifts. I am a machine operator for a an envelope manufacturing company; SUPREMEX INC. (Day shift) A typical day for me starts out early. I am up for work at 5 am; work from 6:00 am-2:30 pm. I get home about 2:45 pm-ish and begin with daily house chores/cleaning/lunch making for next day. My daughter sits down and does her daily reading (son plays). I begin to prepare for dinner before evening activities. Mondays I am a girl guide leader in which me and my daughter do together. Tuesday’s and Thursday’s I take my daughter to gymnastics class 6 pm-8 pm. DREAMS GYMNASTICS (This is a awesome gym; which I recommend, with 2 amazing coaches). Wednesday is usually our free/down day to just relax or have a friend over. Friday’s the kids usually have a sleepover at gramma/grampas house. Saturday’s and Sunday’s usually consist of more activities (swimming/musical theater/baseball/birthday parties/competition/camping etc.) Believe me it’s never a dull moment. I also do a lot of (mother/daughter) (mother/son) days as much as possible. (Afternoon shift) A typical day for me starts out with getting myself ready then making lunches and waking the kids. I drop my daughter off at school (8:30 start). My son is enrolled in Mon/Wed/Fri pre-school for both morning (8:30 am-11:30 am) and (11:45 am-2:15 pm) program; in which I have to pick him up sign him out and then take him back in to class 15 minutes later. Tuesday and  Thursday he has pre-k from 9 am-2 pm Aside from this typical kind of week; there are many appointments I am usually running around doing for myself as well as my son. Not to mention myself and daughter do background filming for TV/movies which does affect my work schedule and her schooling.

Do you have help?

I have help from my common-law boyfriend (kids dad) in which we work opposite shifts to accommodate as much as possible and we do get TREMENDOUS OUTSIDE HELP from my parents (STEP MOM) BEVERLY /LES MESZARICS. My stepmom has been by my side since day one. She helps with everything and anything we need, from appointments/relieving from shift changes; she does it all.

Who cooks dinner?

I cook dinner as much as I can or we end up having dinner out.

How often do you buy something just for you?

I don’t often buy myself anything but now if I really want something I WILL get it.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

My workout schedule does vary because of my hectic schedule. We do have a home gym and weights as well as elliptical so I will do what I can from home and when I do get a chance I go to the gym; just to get away..

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I am not a name brand person. For the most part I usually shop at Wal-Mart, Costco or Superstore. I dress for comfort

Three things in my purse right now are…

Purse? What’s that?! I don’t use purses..I’m a hoodie mama so I usually only have my phone, wallet and keys in my front pocket… or I use a small lululemon bag (consist of wipes/ sanitizer/ chap stick).

My favourite drugstore buy is…

I don’t usually buy things at drugstore… but when I do it’s usually earrings (studs) for me and my daughter. Simple, cheap and very pretty.

Thank you to Amanda for taking the time out of her day to let us know “How Does She Do It.”

You May Also Like