How Does She Do It?… with Jennifer Watts

Twice a month we interview moms in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If you are interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Jennifer Watts selfie in the car

We are excited to introduce you to Jennifer Watts. She is married and has two sons. She is also a mortgage broker with RBC. 

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I’m a Suburban mama and I live in Clayton Heights (Surrey).

Tell us about your children?

I have 2 boys aged 7 and 9. They are so sweet and kind and so much fun. I LOVE being a mom to boys, their energy is unsurpassed but they wear themselves out and pass out every night like clockwork. And as they get older I love seeing their different personalities emerge, but I struggle (probably like every mom out there) with wanting to freeze time and keep them at this age.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

As a Mortgage Broker there is no typical week, but it generally starts with planning on the Sunday for the week ahead – what food are we eating, do we need to fill any childcare gaps for pick ups/etc, what plans are upcoming (family events/kids birthdays) and how do we need to prepare for those. I’m always on email so it’s usually a mix of face to face appointments, phone appointments, working on mortgage applications, attending lunches/networking events and following up on email/calls while trying to squeeze in exercise, grocery shopping and dog walks. We also have soccer for the boys 4 days a week so that takes up a fair amount of time. It’s a busy life but I love it and wouldn’t have it any other way.

Do you have help?

When they were younger we had a nanny but now that they are both in school my husband and I just manage.

Who cooks dinner?

Mostly me, but we do a lot of meal prep and my husband works shift work so he pitches in with cooking where he can. Making a hearty soup for the week ahead is my go-to fall activity.

Jennifer and her family taking a selfie on a sunny day

How often do you buy something just for you?

Probably a few times a month – whether it be a clothing item, a book or makeup I think it’s important – it’s part of self-care.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I do, I spin 1-2 times a week, I play soccer once a week and I lift weights at the gym a minimum of 3x a week. Oh and walking our dogs daily. It’s a busy schedule but I’m fortunate to work from home so somehow we just manage to fit it in. That said, I’ve definitely been at the gym late at night when they’ve been vacuuming lol – and my gym has childcare so that helps immensely.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

My boys are on the thinner side so I always find H&M fits them best, but I’m a Winners girl for sure. 

I’m totally obsessed with…

Reading romance novels. It’s my escape from the everyday and I love reading in general. I also write and publish my own romance novels people sometimes ask me how I can possibly have time to write but it’s a hobby that I truly love and it fills up my cup. I find when you love something that much you somehow make the time for it because it doesn’t feel like work.

Three things in my purse right now are…

I don’t have a purse lol just my laptop bag but it always contains lip gloss, gum, and an exercise band for the gym.

My favourite drugstore buy is…

Shoppers. I’m an Optimum member and the points accumulation is really great when we combine it with the groceries. It’s nice every once in a while to have enough points to treat myself to a new perfume or skincare item. Their online shop has some great deals and promos as well.

My guilty pleasure is…

Hot wings, and long hot baths – though not at the same time 😉 lol

Jennifer having a beer after Tough Mudder race

We want to thank Jennifer Watts for taking time out of her day to let us know “How Does She Do It.”

You May Also Like