How Does She Do It?… with Laura Hoyda

Laura Hoyda and her family

Twice a month we interview Moms in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Laura Hoyda and Family

We are excited to introduce you to Laura Hoyda. She is a 36-year-old mom to Charlie and Bellamy and wife to Ted, a surgical resident. Prior to becoming a mom, she worked as a Wills & Estates lawyer. She was passionate about lawyering but she quickly found out that she’s even more passionate about being a stay-at-home mom. Laura is a video creator for YouTube and enjoys making vlogs about motherhood, travel & lifestyle. Her favourite parts of vlogging are creating lifelong memories for herself and her family and connecting with all types of amazing women from around the world. It is a creative space that allows her to express herself candidly and to share her way of life up-to-the-minute as she navigates it, in a raw and earnest way. She was nominated as a Top 30 Mom blogger by Vancouver Mom.

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

Suburban. We moved from an urban area to suburbia about 6 months ago.

Tell us about your children?

I have 2 amazing kids: my son Charlie who is 6, and my daughter Bellamy who is 2.5

Tell us about your typical weekday?

My weekdays aren’t that typical…I do something different almost every day of the week after I walk my son to grade one. One day I spend the cleaning (or trying to with a two year old’s “help”), one day I take my mom out to do her errands and appointments because she doesn’t drive, two days, after taking my daughter to her day care I film or edit for my YouTube channel.

Do you have help?

No. I use day care to get appointments done or to work on my YouTube channel. We don’t have family in the area that can help. We occasionally hire a sitter from a reputable service if we go out at night.

Who cooks dinner?

Generally I cook dinner and I meal plan and buy the groceries too…but my husband is definitely a better cook than I am so if he is free, we eat better!

Laura Hoyda and her family

How often do you buy something just for you?

I get eyelash extensions and my nails done once a month and I buy a piece of clothing about once a month. My hair I get done every 3 months.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I’m really trying to get to the gym more. I try to schedule 3 times a week in but I’m lucky if I make it once.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

I shop consignment when I can but to fill in the gaps for items I can’t find I like Old Navy, Target, H&M, & Zara. Mountain Equipment Co-Op for outerwear. For shoes I usually do Natives, Crocs and Nikes for active. Zara for dress.

I’m totally obsessed with…

Incorporating minimalism into my life gradually and with an anti-perfectionist mentality and making YouTube videos.

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Sunglasses
  2. Wallet
  3. A Random Bouncy Ball

My favourite drugstore buy is…

Rimmel 25 Hour foundation with comfort serum.

My guilty pleasure is…

Drive through coffee and doughnut holes. Some weeks I go daily. I used to be more ashamed of this habit but now I just work it into my grocery budget and accept it.

Thank you to Laura for taking the time out of your day to let us know “How Does She Do It.”

You May Also Like