How Does She Do It?…. With Nicole Mihaljevich

Modern Mama interviews Mom’s in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If you are interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

This week’s How Does She Do It? mama is…Nicole Mihaljevich! I am the newest Blogger for Modern Mama Calgary. I have been married to my husband for over 13 years and we have 3 children.

I would Love for you to follow me on Facebook and Instagram

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I am an urban Mama. I live in Calgary and have lived here my entire life. Fun little fact: I live in the community I grew up in. I did live out of this community for a few years but I love it, so I came back. I love to travel to suburban areas, to be in the quiet and in nature. 

Tell us about your children?

I have 3 children. My oldest and only daughter, Lily, just turned 11. I can’t believe how fast my children are growing up. She is very creative, always drawing and writing stories. She got 5 new sketchbooks for her birthday and I’m pretty sure she will have them all filled by Christmas. She also loves playing basketball and being with her friends.

My son Jett is 8 and is the most like me. He is chill, easy going and has the best smile and laugh. He also enjoys drawing. He loves to be comfy (or as my kids say it to drive my husband mad, comftee). He has so many blankets and stuffed animals on his bed sometimes it is hard to find him.

My youngest son Everett is 5, he is a smartie. He asks so many questions and absorbs the answers. He started talking in full sentences at a year old and continues to talk all day long. I love these 3 so much and they keep me entertained and laughing.

 

Tell us about your typical weekday?

A typical weekday, I get up after my children as they are morning people and I am not. I make lunches  and help get children ready for school, then my husband  drives them to school. I have been loving not having to go out in the cold mornings. Thanks Love!

My youngest Everett and I use the morning to get things done. Some cleaning, running errands, etc. Then we play a game together.  Sometimes we play cards, or a board game, but lately it’s pretend play. I feed him lunch and take him to school in the afternoon. Now I have 2.5 hours with no children and I don’t know what I am doing but the time goes by so fast.

I pick my kids up after school and we play outside. Then I make dinner and we eat. Then comes bedtime. We have the kids get ready for bed and we all get together in my room and my husband reads to us.  After the children go to bed I sit on the couch with a blanket and watch something or read a book and relax. 

Who cooks dinner?

I usually cook dinner 5 nights out of the week. My husband does 1 or 2 nights. I try to plan meals ahead of time. I have to say, when I do plan ahead, dinner time is a lot nicer. When I don’t plan ahead and have to decide what I should eat and then pick something and realise I don’t have the ingredients so I have to think again is not fun when everyone is hungry. You all know what I am talking about. 

How often do you buy something just for you?

I don’t buy things for just me very often. I have gotten into puzzles these last 2 years and I like to look for new ones. So every once in a while I pick one out but I will not buy it right away. Usually I wait for a while and if it goes on sale I will buy it. Also while growing up I would get new clothes for my birthday. Every year around my birthday my mom and I will go shopping for new clothes. 

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

Over the last 2 years I have had a bit more time to focus on myself with my children being a bit older and my husband being home more. I have wanted to be more healthy and have been trying to exercise more. I exercise in spurts, mostly in the mornings. I normally go about 3 weeks then something happens and I stop. I did a 90 day challenge and it was great. I know I feel a lot better when I do exercise. Most of the exercises I do are routines from an at  home challenge I have been part of. I need accountability to keep me going. 

Three things in my purse right now are…

I carry a small purse. I think I can only fit about 3 things in it. I have my wallet, which takes up most of it, hand lotion, and a pen. I am in the market for a new purse. 

My guilty pleasure is?

Oh I have to say it’s Ben and Jerry’s Non Dairy Netflix and Chill ice cream. Well, I should say all non dairy ice cream!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like