How Does She Do It?… with Carrie Valentin

Twice a month we interview Moms in our “How Does She Do It?” feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook and Instagram.

We are excited to introduce you to Carrie Valentin. She is a stay-at-home Mom. She is raising her three daughters with her husband in Burnaby, BC. She is the founder of Soul on the Rise Community. She has a passion for helping women live their best lives.

Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

I’d say I’m an Urban Mama and live in Central Burnaby.

Tell us about your children?

I have three girls. The oldest is 6 years, middle is 4 years and the baby is 8 months.

Tell us about your typical weekday?

I get up at 5AM (hopefully no one else wakes before 6:30) for ME TIME. During that time I meditate, write in my journal and exercise. Then my kids are up and it’s chaos!! A lot of multi-tasking while trying to get the oldest out the door and to school on time. Once the oldest is at school I hangout with my other daughter’s. When my baby naps I try to get an hour of “work in”. Sometimes the girls and I will head to Strong Start or I’ll arrange a play date. Once my oldest is home from school it’s chaos again. A lot of juggling everything while trying to get dinner on the table. After dinner it’s bath and bed. Then I either do some work or hangout with hubby for a bit. I am usually in bed myself no later then 9PM.

Do you have help?

Yes, I have a nanny once a week. That’s my day to do whatever I need to do whether its appointments for myself or lunch with a friend, etc.

Who cooks dinner?

I do. Always.

How often do you buy something just for you?

Probably once a week.

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

Yes, I do. I fit it in first thing in the morning to get it out of the way or it may not happen. I actually HATE exercising but I love the way I feel afterwards. If I can’t get it in for some reason first thing, I will try to squeeze it in while baby naps and turn on a show for my middle child. I do 30 minute at home workouts so it doesn’t take up a lot of time. The programs I use have a wide variety so some days if I’m not feeling great/low energy I can do yoga or pilates. And for the days I have a lot of energy, I do cardio. I really enjoy strength training.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

hudson & hobbs (local), Zara kids, GAP.

I’m totally obsessed with…

COOKBOOKS!

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Kids Granola Bars
  2. Starbucks Napkins
  3. Lip Gloss

My favourite drugstore buy is…

RIMMEL eye makeup remover! I’ve been using it for maybe 15 years! By far the best eye make remover I’ve ever used.

My guilty pleasure is..

Haagen-Dazs Peanut Butter Chocolate Ice Cream!! I could eat the entire tub in one sitting. I have to ask my husband to take it away from me.

Thank you so much to Carrie for letting us know “How Does She Do It.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

You May Also Like