How Does She Do It?… with Stacey Donovan

Twice a month we interview moms in our “How Does She Do It?’ feature. If interested in participating please reach out on Facebook or Instagram.

Stacey Donovan

We are excited to introduce you to Stacey Donovan: 


Are you an Urban or Suburban Mama, where do you live?

Our family lives in a predominantly agricultural area. We live in the organic Capital of Canada. Our home is surrounded by orchards, vineyards and mountains.

Tell us about your children?

We have six children and one on the way (Due is April). The ages are: 15, 10, 8, 6, 4, and 2. Currently our eldest is homeschooled and is quite busy as the Keremeos and Area Ambassador. Our other children ages 4-10 attend our local Indian band school.
Our youngest is two and enjoys being home with me! Each of our children have their own likes and dislikes and personalities. So as you can imagine it’s always and adventure, sometimes a challenge and every day worth every second!

Tell us about your typical weekday? 

Our typical weekday starts at 6am with getting everyone up and ready for school. The bus arrives around 7:45am and then the children that I babysit for during the day arrival around 8 and 8:30. At 9am we have sensory buckets, flash cards and learning songs! At this time our eldest is doing her homework. My husband is doing online university and spends most of the day doing that in the office) At 10am we have snack and then go play outside and have a small walk! Normally, we have our two year old and two other two-year-old’s that I care for. On Tuesday’s and Thursday’s we attend a 0-6 program that mixes our language and cultural heritage. At 11:45am, we come in and wash hands and have lunch. After lunch is free play till 1pm. Then nap time for two of the kids and the other is not napping so she gets to watch a cartoon and I read my textbooks. (I am taking three university course per semester, going for my bachelors of general studies!) At 3 pm everyone’s up and big kids home and it is snack time/ chores for big kids. Then at 4 we go outside. 430pm we come back inside. By 5pm the kids have gone home and we are in homework and dinner mode. After dinner is showers/baths/ movie or video games. At 7pm the three youngest go to bed and I have time with the 8 and 10 years old’s. (Which rotates so that the 4 and 6 have special times too) and by 830pm I am doing homework) I also make traditional moccasins in my spare time to sell and do custom orders through my Facebook page. Also on Thursday’s our oldest has a kickboxing class as well.My day typically ends around midnight depending on moccasins. Which is a passion of mine. Of course dependant on social activities and other things that come up our day can and must be flexible.

Do you have help?

My husband is home but is doing 8 hours of school work a day so only as needed. Our eldest is a great helper when needed and I also ensure she is paid to be helping out as a like part time job. However she does 6 hours of homework per day and has other social commitments so I only ask for help if absolutely needed! She is quite a remarkable young lady!

Who cooks dinner?

Usually I cook dinner. My husband is trained as chef and cooks often we try and share so it’s easier.

How often do you buy something just for you?

Every second month I buy clothes from my all time favourite store that I am able to fit and feel gorgeous, Torrid! And I also like to purchase hide and supplies to make traditional moccasins every couple months.

Stacey Donovan family

Do you exercise regularly and if so, what and how do you fit it in?

I am quite active during the day with laundry, sweeping, and walking up and down our driveway. In addition to the elliptical two sometimes three times a week and usually I squeeze it into 15mins at about 9pm. I was doing it every day but the first trimester made me so tired I just didn’t get the energy so now I am in the second trimester and am able to slowly build it back into my schedule.

What clothing lines or stores do you like to buy for your children?

We currently have been purchasing through superstore. The rewards points are amazing. However, typically we find amazing brand name clothing at the thrift stores!

I’m totally obsessed with…

Making moccasins for other people it is truly my heart medicine. That is why I started Spaztastical Creations on Facebook so I could make moccasins for others! It’s so beautiful to create and have others so happy with them!

Three things in my purse right now are…

  1. Baby Wipes
  2. About 8 Lipsticks
  3. Wallet

My favourite drugstore buy is…


My guilty pleasure is…

Normally a really nice Okanagan wine but I am preggers so right now my guilty pleasure is buying clothing from torrid.

Thank you to Stacey Donovan for taking the time out of her day to let us know “How Does She Do It?’

You May Also Like